

5516 Vern Holmes Drive • Stevens Point, WI • 54482-8833 Phone 715-344-8580 • FAX 715-344-4241 • email info@wiaawi.org • Web site www.wiaawi.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, Feb. 28, 2011

TEAMS, INDIVIDUALS COMPETE FOR GYMNASTICS STATE TITLES

Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Gymnastics Championships Friday-Saturday, March 4-5, 2011 Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln High School Fieldhouse Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.

THE CHAMPIONSHIPS: The 41st Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Gymnastics State Championships will take place Friday and Saturday, March 4-5, at Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln High School in Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. The individual championships will begin Friday at 5:40 p.m. The team competition will begin at 11 a.m. Saturday. Ticket prices for the championships are \$6 per session and are available at the door.

ON THE AIR: The gymnastics State Championships highlight show will be aired on FS Wisconsin. For dates and times of the program and all WIAA programming on FSN Wisconsin, please check local listings or visit the WIAA Media Center website for the most current schedule.

CHAMPIONSHIPS FORMAT: Ten teams will compete for the Division 1 and Division 2 team titles. The top two teams from each of the five sectionals in each division qualify for the meet. The top five individuals in each event and the top five all-arounds at each sectional qualify for the State Individual Championships.

COMPETING TEAMS: There are 10 teams that compete for the team State championship in both divisions. The teams qualifying in Division 1, with the number of times the programs have qualified for the team competition in parentheses, are Arrowhead (6), Burlington/Badger/Catholic Central/Wilmot Union (3), Franklin/Muskego/Oak Creek/Whitnall (4), Holmen (15), Homestead (19), Oshkosh West/Lourdes/North (1),

Sheboygan South/North (8), Stevens Point (17), Verona/Edgewood (5) and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln (11). The 10 teams competing in Division 2 are Antigo (8), Ashland (11), Elkhorn (4), Milton (7), Onalaska (8), Platteville/Belmont/Lancaster (2), River Falls (21), River Valley (4), West Salem/Aquinas (5) and Whitefish Bay (16). There were 80 teams in the Tournament Series this year, including 43 in Division 1 and 37 in Division 2.

TEAM TOURNAMENT HISTORY: The WIAA has sponsored the State Gymnastics Championships since 1971. The event featured one division from 1971 through 1977. The State tournament series competition was divided into two divisions in 1978. Waukesha West/North/ South has won the most team championships with seven. Brookfield Central, De Pere and River Falls are tied for the second most with five. Mount Horeb, Nicolet and Southwestern/Cuba City have won four titles.

LAST YEAR: Arrowhead won the Division 1 team championship for the second consecutive year with a score of 144.715. Franklin/Muskego/Oak Creek/Whitnall placed runner-up for the second straight season with a score of 144.118. Individually, Becky Schneider of Janesville Craig won the all-around competition with a score of 36.87. Sara Ennocenti of Janesville Craig won the vault with a score of 9.48. Sydney Stiener of Sun Prairie earned the State title on the uneven bars with a score of 9.58. Kirstyn Wood of Arrowhead won the balance beam with a score of 9.62, and Caitlin Jurk of Sheboygan South/North was the champion in the floor exercise with a 9.43. In Division 2, River Falls won its fifth team title with a score of 142.649. Whitefish Bay finished runner-up with a score of 141.567. Individually, Karla Hagen of Viroqua/Cashton/De Soto/North Crawford won three events, including the all-around with a score of 37.03. Her winning performances scored a 9.30 in the uneven bars and a 9.17 on the balance beam. Kim Stonewerth of

DAVE ANDERSON EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR danderson@wiaawi.org WADE LABECKI DEPUTY DIRECTOR wlabecki@wiaawi.org DEBRA HAUSER Associate Director dhauser@wiaawi.org TOM SHAFRANSKI Assistant Director tshafranski@wiaawi.org MARCY THURWACHTER Assistant Director mthurwachter@wiaawi.org TODD CLARK Communications Director tclark@wiaawi.org Whitewater claimed the vaulting title with a score of 9.43, and Carly Jerry of River Falls won the floor exercise with a 9.4.

RETURNING CHAMPIONS: Every event in Division 1 will feature its returning champion. Junior Becky Schneider of Janesville Craig returns to defend her championship in the all-around competition. Senior Kirstyn Wood of Arrowhead will attempt to win her second straight championship in the balance beam, and sophomore Caitlin Jurk of Sheboygan South/North is the defending champion returning in the floor exercise. Junior Sydney Stiener of Sun Prairie is out to defend her title in the uneven parallel bars, and senior Sara Ennocenti of Janesville Craig is back attempting to retain her title in the vault. In Division 2, all but one of last year's event champions were seniors and have graduated. The lone exception is the vault. Senior Kim Stonewerth of Whitewater has qualified in the event in pursuit of her second championship in the event. The Division 2 field highlights a number of former champions nonetheless. In addition to Stonewerth, the vault competition includes its 2009 champion junior Emily Yachinich of Ashland, who placed 11th last year. Senior Allie Phillips of Elkhorn, the 2008 champion in both the uneven bars and the floor exercise, returns to the State meet attempting to regain those titles, and junior Amanda Guise of River Falls has aspirations of returning to the form that won her the balance beam in 2009.

NEED THE QUALIFIERS?: All rosters of qualifying teams are available on the WIAA Web site at: http://www.wiaawi.org/index.php?id=181

NEED RESULTS?: The quickest way to attain results will be to access the gymnastics or results page of the WIAA Web site at: http://www.wiaawi.org/index.php?id=574 and choose the appropriate link.